Skip to Content

24 Fun & Best Things to do in Bavaria, Germany

24 Fun & Best Things to do in Bavaria, Germany

From visiting the many famous castles and churches to hiking in the mountains and enjoying a nice beer in one of the many beer gardens, there is plenty of charm in this historic region of southern Germany. Here are our favorite things to do in Bavaria, Germany.

Germany’s largest state, Bavaria, is a region rich in history and culture. There are many things to do for tourists in this scenic area, including visiting the many famous castles and churches, hiking in the mountains, and enjoying a delicious German beer in a beer garden.

Bavaria is one of the most popular scenic travel destinations in Europe with spectacular mountains and magnificent castles dating back through history. A famous travel spot where the past and present come together to form a timeless location. Visiting Bavaria, Germany opens an opportunity to experience an incredible journey and memorable trip.

Best Things to do in Bavaria, Germany & Places to Visit

Let’s get into the best places to visit in Bavaria, Germany.

Neuschwanstein Castle

White Castle on the Top of a Hill

Address: Neuschwansteinstraße 20, 87645 Schwangau, Germany

Neuschwanstein Castle is a 19th-century palace situated on a craggy hill just above the Hohenschwangau village close to Füssen in southwest Bavaria, Germany. The literal translation of Neuschwanstein is ‘New Swan Stone Castle’ and is a dream castle that inspired the Cinderella Castle of Walt Disney World.

The Bavarian King commissioned the palace for a retreat (it is said he was a shy and reclusive king) and Richard Wagner’s honor. The Neuschwanstein Castle was meant to be the King’s private residence.

The castle was also built to be a recreation of the Hohenschwangau Castle, which was the king’s childhood home. Ludwig opted to fund the palace from extensive borrowing and his personal coffers rather than using public funds. The ground for the castle was broken in 1868 during the summer, but the foundation wasn’t laid till September of 1869.

However, he did not live long enough to see the castle completed as he passed away in 1886. Shortly after the King’s death, the palace was opened to the public. The Bower and the Square Towers were finished in 1892, years after the public opening.

Since the castle’s opening, over 61 million people have paid a visit to Neuschwanstein. Every year, over 1.3 million people visit the castle, with about 6,000 visitors per day during the summer.

Neuschwanstein has become known as one of Europe’s most popular tourist attractions. The castle is often referred to as “the castle of the fairy king.”

See Related: Best Museums in Munich, Germany

Linderhof Palace

Pond and Golden Statue In Front of Linderhof Palace

Address: Linderhof 12, 82488 Ettal, Germany

Linderhof Castle is located in Southwest Bavaria, close to the Ettal village, Southwest Bavaria. The castle name is derived from Linde, which means mighty weeping willow in German.

The weeping willow has been in the Linderhof park since about the 15th century when it was first noticed in the Granswang valley, south of Bavaria, close to the Austrian border.

By the 19th century, King Maximillian II turned the place into a lodge for hunting, and in 1869, his son Ludwig II purchased the land to build a royal palace.

Linderhof is the only castle King Ludwig II of Bavaria saw completed in his lifetime. It is also the smallest palace out of the three he built. He began crafting building plans for his three palaces, Linderhof included, in 1867.

Schloss Linderhof was supposed to be built in resemblance to the king’s most loved palace – the Palace of Versailles. Although this lofty dream was not achieved due to financial constraints, Linderhof Palace is still a stunning bastion filled with amazing wall paintings, beautiful tapestries, marble sculptures, and elegant furniture.

One of the most breathtaking places in the palace is the Hall of Mirrors. It is a magnificent room with mirrors covering almost everywhere. The reflections in the room are endless and provide a magic mirror experience.

Linderhof Castle Park is another incredible attraction. The park is sprawling and filled with beautiful greenery. The garden in the park has two fountain figures. One is of Fama, the fame goddess, and the other is Amor, the love god.

See Related: Things to do in Leipzig

English Garden

Group Sitting on a Park Bench By the River

Address: Munich, Germany

The landscape garden is also known as the English Garden or the English Landscape Park. It is a landscape “garden” style that began in the early 18th century in England.

This style eventually spread through Europe and rapidly took over from the more symmetrical and formal Jardin à la française style that was the popular gardening style.

The English landscape garden offered a romanticized outlook of nature. The man behind this style was called William Kent.

He created and established this “informal style” of gardening to rebel against the overly formal architectural style of gardening. His inspiration was gotten and drawn from landscape paintings by Nicolas Poussin and Claude Lorrain.

The English Landscape Park typically had swoops of softly rolling lawns nestled against groves of different trees and classical temple recreations, a lake, bridges, Gothic ruins, and other scenic architecture made to recreate the idyllic nature of the pastoral landscape.

A distinctly significant work that held influence in this style was that of Lancelot “Capability” Brown.

As the 18th century drew to a close, the English landscape garden was beginning to be copied by the French garden and even the gardens owned by prospective Emperor Paul in faraway St. Petersburg, Russia.

By the 19th century, the influence of the English landscape garden was still significant. Its influence affected how public gardens and parks were designed in different countries all over the world. It is also worthy to note that the English garden was focused around the English country home.

While you are at the English Garden, you need to stop by the outdoor Chinese beer garden, it’s one of my personal favorite tourist attractions in Munich, the largest city in Bavaria, Germany.

See Related: Charming German Traditions to Know

Hohenschwangau Castle

Castle on the Top of the Hill

Address: Alpseestraße 30, 87645 Schwangau, Germany

This historic castle is situated in Southern Germany and is a 19th-century building that was the childhood home of several German Kings. The castle was initially sold off by King Maximillian I Joseph of Bavaria in 1820. His grandson Maximillian II repurchased the castle when he became crown prince in 1832.

The castle had become rundown and decrepit by then. In February of 1833, reconstruction of the palace began and went on till 1837. Continuous building additions kept being made till 1855. Domenico Quaglio was the architect placed in charge of overseeing the project, and he designed the castle exterior in a neogothic design.

This castle served as the royal hunting and summer residence for King Maximillian I and his wife Marie of Prussia, as well as their sons Ludwig and Otto.

It is said that the queen loved taking hikes in the surrounding mountains, and she set up an alpine garden filled with plants gotten from different parts of the Bavarian Alps.

Ludwig later became King of Bavaria, and Otto also became King Otto I of Bavaria. The current exact location of the castle is in Hohenschwangau, a village close to Füssen in the Ostallgäu county of Southern Bavaria.

Over 300,000 visitors and tourists from different parts of the world visit the castle every year. Other than Christmas, the castle stays open throughout the year. Guided tours are available in English, Czech, Japanese, French, German, Russian, Italian, Slovenian, and Spanish. However, self-guided tours are not allowed.

Visiting this castle is one of the most amazing things to do in Bavaria as well as visiting other cities like Munich, Nuremberg, and things to do in Mannheim.

See RelatedBest Day Trips from Nuremberg

Ellinger Tor

Address: Ellinger Str., 91781 Weißenburg in Bayern, Germany

This city gate of Weissenburg is the most popular in Bayern, Germany. The gate is part of Weissenburg’s ancient city wall and dates back to the 14th century. In 1964 and 1967, the Ellinger Tor was on the Deutsche Bundespost Stamp. This gate is now part of the historic city council library.

The Ellinger Tor gate was the first part of Weissenburg’s city wall built approximately in 1200. The gate’s tower was constructed during the 14th century, while the upper area floor was built during the 17th century. The battlements and exterior appendages were finished around 1520.

Some of the Weissenburg town histories can be seen on the Ellinger Tor gate. On the right half part of the gate is the town’s first coat of arms from 1241. The left part has the second coat of arms from 1481.

The half-white castle on the 1241 coat of arms signifies the city, while the imperial eagle signifies the king as well as his imperial immediacy. It can be seen that this particular coat of arms has a twin-headed eagle that was positioned between two small turrets that are white-colored.

Generally, the Elinger Tor is a fascinating and stunning gate with beautiful decorations seen from the side facing out of town.

The other side is equally beautiful but with sparse, simple aesthetics. It is nestled in a side street that may totally hide it from tourists walking downtown. However, visitors coming to Weissenburg via the B13 route will get a stunningly clear view of the gate.

See Related: Top Most Beautiful Cities in the World to Visit

Nymphenburg Palace and the Residenz

Spacious Garden and Nymphenburg Palace Building

Address: Schloß Nymphenburg 1, 80638 München, Germany

The Nymphenburg Palace is located in Neuhausen-Nymphenburg, Bavaria, Southern Germany. This baroque castle and the adjoining Nymphenburg Palace Park make up one of Europe’s principal royal palaces. It has a frontal width of 632 m (2,073 ft.) (north-south axis) that exceeds even that of the Versailles Palace, making it the largest palace in Europe.

The Nymphenburg Palace used to be the main summer home for the past rulers of Bavaria, who belonged to the House of Wittelsbach, and is a popular destination in the Bavarian Capital of Munich.

Inside the palace are baroque facades that measure an overall width of almost 700 meters. Several rooms retained the original baroque design from when the palace was erected, while others have been renovated in neoclassical or rococo style.

The stone hall (Steinerner Saal) situated within the palace’s central pavilion is filled with decorations done by Francois de Cuvillies and ceiling frescoes designed by Johann Baptist Zimmermann and F. Zimmerman. Both of these designs combine to give the stone hall a very visually captivating appeal.

In addition to the central pavilion, the palace has the Northern pavilion with various wings and the Southern pavilion with various wings. The Southern pavilion used to house the Electress apartments when the palace was first built.

The famous Gallery of Beauties associated with the Bavarian is hung in the Southern Pavilion. On the other hand, the Northern pavilion houses the chapel that has ceiling paintings of St Mary Magdalene and the Museum of Man and Nature.

Every year, the Nymphenburg Palace main building gains over 300,000 visitors looking to explore this fairy tale palace. This palace is also used as headquarters for the Bavarian Administration of State-Owned Palaces, Gardens, and Lakes.

See RelatedBest Things to do in Dortmund

Hofgarten

Garden Pavilion Surrounded with Plants

Address: Hofgartenstraße 1, 80538 München, Germany

This garden is situated right between the Englischer Garten and the Residenz in Munich, Germany. It was constructed in 1613–1617 under the orders of Maximilian I, Elector, and designed using the Italian Renaissance Garden style. It’s one of the best parks in Munich by far.

In the heart of this garden is the pavilion dedicated to the goddess Diana and constructed in 1615 by Heinrich Schön, the elder. From each arch in the pavilion is a path that leads away. The roof of the Diana pavilion (Dianatempel) is a sculpture replica of Bavaria made by Hubert Gerhard in 1623.

The eastern part of the Hofgarten is faced by the Bavarian State Chancellery (Staatskanzlei), accommodated in the old Army Museum. At the front of the Chancellery building is the war memorial (Kriegerdenkmal) established to commemorate the Munich citizens who died in action during the First World War.

Toward the northeastern corner is a square-shaped black granite memorial for the White Rose group members executed by the Hitler regime for non-violently protesting Nazi rule.

During the Second World War, the garden was damaged. After the war was over, it was reconstructed using a limited design that fused both the 19th-century landscape garden style and the formal original 17th-century design.

The Hofgarten is an incredibly popular place with tourists as well as residents. In the South of the garden close to the Residenz are flowers designed in 1853 by Carl Effner.

There are also arcades leading to the north and west, plus numerous wall paintings associated with Bavarian history. At the west of the Garden is the Court Garden Gate (Hofgartentor), leading to the Theatinerkirche.

Imperial Castle of Nuremberg

Address: Burg 17, 90403 Nürnberg, Germany

The Nuremberg Castle is one of the most important historic sites to see when you visit Nuremberg and in Bavaria, Germany, in general. This castle is built on ancient fortified structures on a ridge made of sandstone overlooking the historical old town and UNESCO World Heritage Site of Nuremberg.

The castle alongside the city walls is regarded as one of the most intimidating medieval defenses. It signified the magnitude and strength of the Holy Roman Empire and the exceptional role Nuremberg played as an imperial city.

During the Middle Ages, the Kings of Germany had no capital but continuously traveled from one imperial castle (Kaiserpfalz) they owned to another.

Eventually, the Nuremberg castle gained prominence over other palaces, and for centuries, many emperors and kings of Germany used it as their permanent seat of power and residence.

Nuremberg castle has three different parts. The first part is the old Burgraves castle. The second part is the Imperial castle. The third part is the building that was constructed by the Imperial City. These structures were built around 1000, so each part represents a different time period.

Some alterations were done to the castle in the 19th century. Under the Nazi regime, the castle was changed back to its “original state” as part of preparing for the infamous 1936 Nuremberg party rally, which was the Nazi Party rally grounds.

After World War II left most of the castle in ruins, it took about thirty years for it to be renovated and rebuilt to the current state. The town of Nuremberg and the castle are one of the best romantic getaways in the alps.

See Related: Berlin Wall Facts

Bavarian Forest National Park

Address: Germany

The Nationalpark Bayerischer is a park within the Eastern Bavarian Forest directly situated on Germany’s border shares with the Czech Republic.

The Bavarian Forest National park was established on the seventh of October 1970. It was the first park in Germany that was a national park, and it takes up an area of 24,250 hectares.

The Bavarian Forest National Park is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Germany. The park is known for its lush, green forests and pristine lakes. Visitors can enjoy a variety of outdoor activities, including the vast array of hiking trails, biking, fishing, and swimming.

The park is also home to a variety of wildlife, including deer, boars, and eagles. Visitors can take guided tours or explore the park on their own. There are also a number of restaurants and cafes located in the park for those who want to stop and enjoy a bite to eat.

Along with the nearby Czech Bohemian Forest, the Bavarian Forest makes up the biggest forest contiguous area in Central Europe and some of the best national parks to visit.

Deutsches Museum

Tower in Deutsches Museum Building

The world’s leading scientific and technology museum is the Deutsches Museum in Munich, Germany. The museum has over 100,000 exhibits covering 50 diverse technologies, making it one of the most popular tourist attractions in Bavaria.

The museum has 35 exhibits across seven different sections and includes Astronomema Amateur Radio Geodesy Energy Technology. The vast collections of objects are from the stone age until today. The book is not restricted to specific subjects – it includes everything from atomic physics to mining to aviation history.

Visiting the Deutsches Museum is one of the best things to do in Bavaria with kids. There’s so much to see and learn.

Marienplatz

Panorama of Marienplatz Grounds

Address: Marienplatz, 80331 München, Germany

Mary’s Square is situated in the center of Munich City, Germany. Since 1158, it has functioned as the main square in the city. Marienplatz used to serve as the location for tournaments and markets. Originally, Mary’s square was known as Markt (“market”), Schranne (“grain market”), and later Schrannenplatz (“grain market square”).

Once the Schrannenplatz shifted in 1853 to a new iron-and-glass Schranne close to “Blumenstrasse,” it became known as Marienplatz. The new name became official on the 9th of October, 1854.

Marienplatz got its name from a Marian column in the center of the square called Mariensäule, built-in 1638, to commemorate the termination of the Swedish occupation.

This occupation happened because of the Thirty Year’s War. The Marian Column is capped by a Virgin Mary statue in gold, standing on top of a crescent moon as Queen of Heaven. This gold statute was made in 1590 and was originally situated in Frauenkirche.

Presently, the Marienplatz is overlooked by the Neues Rathaus (New City Hall) to the North and the Altes Rathaus (Old City Hall, a renovated gothic style city hall) a tower and ballroom) to the East.

In the new city hall tower, the inspiration for the Glockenspiel was drawn from the tournaments held on the square grounds in the Middle Ages; and it attracts tourists of millions every year.

Moreover, the pedestrian area between Marienplatz and Karlsplatz is a packed area with many restaurants and shops. During the yuletide season, the Christkindlmark (Christmas market) opens up at the square selling Christmas drinks, foods, gifts, and goods.

On your way to Marienplatz, other destinations, and attractions of Germany, you might encounter German jokes from the locals or the tourist guide that bring more joy to the tour.

Nepal Himalaya Pavillon

Address: Martiniplatte, 93109 Wiesent, Germany

This is an exhibition pavilion of the Nepalese that is now found in Hanover after the expo of 2009. This pavilion was bought by a patron and was later rebuilt in Wiesent in the upper Palatinate district, which is in the Regensburg district.

The Nepalese pavilion was set up in 2000 for the Expo 2000 held in Hanover from June to October 2000.

About 178 nations and international organizations attended the Expo. The pavilion has a 22-meter-high-tower with intricate carvings done by about 800 Nepalese artisans. The building was a major attraction amongst other pavilions at the World’s Fair and had about 3.5 million visits.

At the end of the exhibition, the pavilion was bought by the manufacturer Heribert Wirth. The building was later broken into separate parts and rebuilt into the original in Wiesent, Upper Palatinate. Since July 15, 2003, the building has been opened to the public.

The operators reported that the building remains the only site where Hindus and Buddhists can be found together in one structure. Different gardens are surrounding it. There is also a tea house, a Nepalese carillon, and a large pond with a gigantic figure of Buddha.

Visitors and tourists can get access to the building from mid-May to October within opening hours. The revenues from this building are then forwarded to the Water for the World Foundation, and the money is used to provide water projects in the Third World.

See RelatedThings to do in Konstanz

Schleissheim Palace

Fountain  Water Mirroring the Sky at Schleissheim Palace

Address: 85764 Oberschleißheim, Germany

This palace comprises three different palaces located in a splendid baroque park right in the Oberschleissheim village, Munich, Bavaria. The palace served as a summer house for rulers of Bavaria who belonged to the House of Wittelsbach.

There is the Old Schleißheim Palace, Lustheim Palace, and the New Schleißheim Palace. Schleißheim’s old palace began as a Renaissance-style country house alongside hermitage established in 1598 by William V.

There are two courtyards within this palace known as Maximilianshof, the interior courtyard, and Wilhelmshof, the exterior one. By order of William’s son Maximilian I, the structures were expanded between 1617 – 1623 by Hans Krumper and Heinrich Schön to create the supposed old palace.

Enrico Zuccalli built Lustheim Palace in 1684 – 1688 to be an Italian-styled garden villa for King Maximilian II Emanuel and Austrian princess Maria Antonia, the first queen. Lustheim is situated on a circular-shaped island and functions as a point de vue of the end of the baroque-style court garden.

This palace has double stories with a mid-section overlooked by a belvedere that offers an extensive outlook of the neighboring countryside.

The New Schleißheim Palace is situated between the other two palaces, and it was built between 1701 – 1704 because the elector was expecting the crown.

However, due to Max Emanuel losing Bavaria for a couple of years during the Spanish Succession War, the construction of this palace was halted.

Eventually, Joseph Effner expanded the structure to become a prominently remarkable Baroque palace in 1719–1726, but just the major wing was finished.

Munich Residenz

Address: Residenzstraße 1, 80333 München, Germany

The Munich Residenz is situated in Central Munich, Germany, and it used to be the royal palace for Wittelsbach monarchs ruling Bavaria. It is the biggest city palace in Germany. The group of historic buildings that make up this building has 130 rooms and ten courtyards.

The three primary parts of the complex are the Alte Residenz (Old Residenz; toward the Residenzstraße), the Festsaalbau (toward the Hofgarten), and the Königsbau (close to the Max-Joseph-Platz).

The Festsaalbau has housed the Cuvilliés Theatre since the rebuilding of the castle after World War II ended.

It also holds the Hercules Hall (Herkulessaal), which is the main concert arena for the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra.

At the east flank is the Byzantine Court Church of All Saints (Allerheiligen-Hofkirche), which faces the Marstall – the old Court Riding School and royal stables.

The Munich Residenz castle constructed in 1385 was the first part of the current complex called the Neuveste. The different rulers expanded the palace to make a bigger complex assembled over several courtyards from these structures.

Under King Ludwig III, who ruled from 1913 to 1918, modern technical additions such as lighting and central heating were fixed up in the palace.

When the monarchy ended in1918, the residence was disbanded as a government seat and became an interior design museum which was opened to the public in 1920. World War II came, and most of the upper palace story and multiple ground floor vaulted rooms were destroyed.

However, most inventories that could be moved had been previously moved to safe storage space.

In May 1945, a building office was established on the residence to handle the rebuilding of the complex to preserve its splendid historical and cultural value. This rebuilding spanned several decades.

See Related: History of the Cuckoo Clock

Danube Gorge

Boat Tours at Danube Gorge
“DSC_0594” by sacratomato_hr is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

Address: Asamstraße 22, 93309 Kelheim, Germany

The Danube Gorge is located close to Weltenburg; it is pronounced as Donaudurchbruch bei Weltenburg in German. It is a narrow part of the Danube Valley in the Lower Bavaria county of Kelheim.

This place has been regarded as a rich natural reserve as well as a geotope. This part of the valley is officially referred to as Weltenburg Narrows (Weltenburger Enge).

The Weltenburg Narrows is found between the Lower Bavarian section of the River Danube and lies between two beautiful towns: Weltenburg Abbey and Kelheim. This natural reserve covers about 560 hectares and is about 400 meters wide and 5.5 kilometers in length.

This natural reserve has been in existence since 1938, and it got the European Diploma on 5 March 1978. It is also part of the Natura 2000 network and well-protected area of DE7136301, Weltenburg Narrows and Hirschberg, and Altmühlleiten.

Additionally, the area has a geotope no. 273R005. The Weltenburg Narrows got an official seal by the Bavarian Minister for the Environment in 2002 as one of Bavaria’s most beautiful geotopes.

The Danube Gorge got listed as one of the 77 outstanding national geotopes of Germany in 2006.

Falkenhof Schloss Rosenburg

Address: Schloßweg 7, 93339 Riedenburg, Germany

This castle is situated in Rosenburg, Germany. Here, the birds are presented twice a day at 11 am and at 3 pm. Visitors and tourists get to witness firsthand the incredible skills of the castle’s birds of prey against the stunning background of the old preserved castle.

After the air show or even before, visitors are offered the chance to get more insight into the various birds of prey through a guided tour of the Falkenhof castle grounds. More information on falconry can be gotten from the castle museum.

As well as the history of birds of prey and falconry, the museum offers knowledge on native fauna. Tourists who wish to find out more about the history of Count Rosenburg and Count Risenburg will also find it in the museum.

At the Falkenhof Castle, falcons, vultures, eagles, and several local birds of prey are housed in the scenic courtyard through the season. Several of these bird species have gone extinct in the Altmühltal for decades, if not more. The current animals residing at Rosenburg all result from deliberate breeding.

Most were born at the breeding center specially established for this objective. In the Falkenhof Castle courtyard, visitors will find Eagle species such as the bald eagle, imperial eagle, predatory eagle, fish eagle, golden eagle, short-toed eagle, and European white-tailed eagle.

The species of Buzzards residing there as well include the eagle buzzard, common buzzard, blue buzzard (aguja), and king owl buzzard.

The museum does not get any state support or subsidy but is financed completely through visitor entrance fees.

See RelatedInteresting Facts About Germany

Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site

Address: Alte Römerstraße 75, 85221 Dachau, Germany

Dachau used to be a concentration camp that opened on 22 March 1933 and was originally meant to accommodate political prisoners.

The Dachau Concentration Camp is situated on the lands of a deserted munitions factory just northeast of the old town of Dachau, nearly 16 km (10 mi) northwest of Munich.

After Heinrich Himmler opened it, it expanded its objectives to incorporate forced labor and imprisonment of German, Romani, and Austrian Criminals. Jews and foreign nationals in countries occupied or invaded by Germany were also sent to this camp.

This became one of the largest and most important concentration camps during this era and escalated to include almost 100 sub-camps, which were mainly Arbeitskommandos or work camps located all over Austria and South Germany.

In April 1945, the principal camp was invaded and liberated by American forces. Before the liberation, prisoners existed in a constant state of fear of terror detention and cruel, inhuman treatment such as floggings, pole or tree hanging, standing cells, and standing at fixed attention for overly long lengths of time.

32,000 deaths were documented to have happened at Dachau, and thousands more are undocumented. About 10,000 prisoners out of the 30,000 at the camp were seriously ill when the camp was liberated.

After the war was over, the Dachau grounds were used to accommodate SS soldiers awaiting trial.

The former concentration camp at Majdanek was built in July of 1940 and then used to detain ethnic Germans who were awaiting relocation. Finally, the facility was shut down in 1960. There are several religious monuments in the Memorial Site today, and it is available to anybody for a visit.

BMW Museum 

Exhibit of Old Cars at BMW Museum 

The BMW Museum is a must-see for car enthusiasts visiting Bavaria. Located in the company’s hometown of Munich, the museum traces the history of the automaker from its early days as a manufacturer of aircraft engines to its current status as one of the world’s leading luxury car brands.

Highlights of the museum include vintage models, racing cars, and concept vehicles.

The BMW Museum is open from Monday to Sunday from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm.

Oktoberfest

Clinking Glasses of Beer

The world’s largest Volksfest (beer festival), Oktoberfest takes place every year in Munich and is a must-see event for any beer lover. With over 6 million visitors, there’s something for everyone as it’s not just about drinking large quantities of beer. There are amusement parks throughout the festival, live music, and plenty of things for kids to do. It’s really meant

The festival runs for two weeks in September featuring some of the best breweries in the entire world. The Oktoberfest dates back to 1810 when it was held in honor of the marriage of Crown Prince Ludwig and Princess Therese of Saxony-Hildburghausen.

If you’re looking for a fun and festive way to spend your time in Germany, be sure to cross an Oktoberfest experience off your bucket list.

Burg Ehrenfels

Address: Pfarrer-Fichtl-Straße 10, 93176 Beratzhausen, Germany

The Ehrenfels Castle is a mainly ruined castle on the hillside over the Rhine Gorge close to Rüdesheim’s Rhein in Hesse town in Germany.

It is situated right on the precipitous eastern riverbank amongst stretched-out vineyards. There is a grape variety called Ehrenfelser that gets its name from the castle.

The Ehrenfels Castle was constructed (rebuilt) around 1212 under orders from the Archbishop of Mainz Siegfried II von Eppstein. The castle possesses features common with late medieval castle design that typically has prominent flanking towers and high shield walls.

The castle walls go up to about 20 meters while the conspicuous round towers stand at 33 meters. Before it became a ruin, it used to house the Mainz Cathedral treasures and was the venue for the appointment of Konrad II, Archbishop of Mainz.

Alongside the supposedly called “Mouse Tower,” Burg Ehrenfels made up a significant collection of excise buildings and aimed to regulate Rhine navigation at “Binger Loch.” This regulation and control through tolls was the work of the Archbishop of Mainz.

He employed Burgmannen as staff in the castle and the toll post. The major reason for the castle functioning as a Rhine control tower was to strategically hit back at the regular attacks from Elector Palatine Henry V, the Imperial vicar of Franconia, who continuously tried hard to reduce the influence and authority of the Mainz archbishop.

The Ehrenfels Castle was severely damaged during the Thirty Year’s War. The French troops destroyed it in 1689. Presently, the ruins can only be accessed from Rüdesheim through a hiking route within the vineyards.

However, the interior of the ruined castle is open to visitors only by prior scheduled guide tours.

See Related: Best Hotels in Munich, Germany

Herrenchiemsee New Palace

Herrenchiemsee New Palace Grounds and Fountain

Address: 83209 Herrenchiemsee, Germany

Herrenchiemsee is a group of several royal buildings situated on Herreninsel, the biggest island on the Chiemsee lake in Bavaria, Germany.

Alongside the nearby isle of Frauenchiemsee and the unoccupied Krautinsel, they all make up the Chiemsee municipality, situated nearly 60 kilometers southeast of Munich.

The island was previously the location of an Augustinian monastery before King Ludwig II of Bavaria purchased it in 1873. Ludwig II had the grounds renovated into a living residence, and it became known as the Altes Schloss (Old Palace).

From 1878 and forward, he arranged for the Neues Schloss (the New Herrenchiemsee Palace) to be built in the likeness of the Versailles Palace model.

The Old Palace, also known as the Herrenchiemsee Abbey, is a Baroque monastery building constructed between 1642 – 1731. During the German Mediatisation, the Abbey became secularized in 1803, and the Chiemsee diocese was totally disbanded in 1808.

The island was sold off, and different owners destroyed the cathedral and sold off the interior. The abbey was transformed into a brewery.

King Ludwig II of Bavaria acquired the island in 1873. He directed the remaining buildings to be renovated for his personal use. That complex eventually became the Old Palace he stayed in a while supervising the New Herrenchiemsee Palace construction.

The building of the New Palace started in 1878 and the King oversaw the construction progress as the new royal home was intended to be a Versailles homage as well as the king’s new private residence.

However, despite this intent, the New Herrenchiemsee Palace was never built to accommodate a royal household of over a thousand. The King himself was only able to enjoy the new palace residence for just a handful of days in September 1885.

Herrenchiemsee was the last and biggest of the King’s building projects. However, it remained unfinished when the king died, and presently, it is managed by the Bavarian Administration of State-Owned Palaces, Gardens, and Lakes. The Herrenchiemsee is open to public visitation and is a key tourist site.

Hike through Partnach Gorge

Stream of Water Passing in Between the Forest at Partnach Gorge

The Partnach Gorge is a stunning natural wonder in Bavaria. It was carved in rocky boulders by the Partnach River in Garmischen-Partenkirchen over a thousand years ago. The gorge is deposited millions of years ago and is 699-meter (22393-meter) long.

There are two trails leading the shore of the River that go through a series of vertical rock formations. The upper trail is the easiest and the tunnels of the lower trail are just over a foot high as they traverse the 699-meter (22393-meter) river.

The Partnach Gorge is located in the town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. To get to the gorge, you can take a train to Garmisch-Partenkirchen from Munich or take a bus from the Innsbruck airport. Follow the indications from the Olympic Stadium in Garmisch-Partenkirchen to reach the gorge; it’s a 25-minute stroll.

This is a great way to explore Bavaria through the great outdoors.

See Related: Best Things to do in Bamberg, Germany

Passau and the Danube River

Dunabe River and Castle on the Hill at Passau, Germany

Passau is located at the Austrian border between the Danube River and the Inn. The city is famous for the flat-roofed 16th-century Italian-style houses connected to flying buttresses. Other notable sights of the romantic Old Town, widely considered a beautiful townscape throughout the European Union include the Oberhaus fortress, Mariahilf Church, and the lovely stairs leading to the two rivers.

Located at the Domplatz, surrounded by old canon houses, stands the cathedral of St. Stephen. This is renowned for being one of the world’s largest cathedral organs.

The Late Gothic east part of the cathedral dates to 1407. The Baroque nave has been built in 1678.

There are plenty of boat tours offered along the Danube River, which is a great way to see the beautiful half-timbered houses and the beautiful architecture in the Bavarian Alps. This is by far one of the most romantic things to do in Bavaria.

See Related: How to Spend Christmas in Germany

Eagle’s Nest

Eagle’s Nest was built as a mountaintop retreat for Hitler and gifted to him on his 50th birthday. It took around 3,000 workers a mere two years to carve the precipitous 6km-long road. This was often a stomping ground for the Nazi Party.

Today, it serves as a restaurant and beer garden offering expansive views.

The Eagle’s Nest is open to visitors in the summer and affords spectacular views of the Bavarian landscape.

Eagle’s Nest is located in the Bavarian Alps near the Berchtesgaden National Park. You can reach it either by car or shuttle bus from the alpine town of Berchtesgaden.

FAQ

Is Bavaria the best part of Germany?

In terms of tourism, Germany is well-known for its popular vacation destinations in Bavaria and the region has some of the country’s most beautiful scenery… Bavaria is a lovely location with a long history and is one of the best regions to visit in Germany.

What is Bavaria known for?

Bavaria is known for its beautiful landscape, popular festivities, and distinctive local culture. It’s one of the most popular tourist destinations in Germany and offers a variety of attractions and activities for visitors to enjoy. Some of the most famous German sausage, beer, and leather shorts are made in Bavaria, making it a great place to experience German culture firsthand.

What is there to do in Bavaria in the winter?

There is a lot that happens in the winter in Bavaria. This region has some of the best Christmas markets, family holidays like New Year’s Eve and Walpurgis Night, parades, events, football matches, and many other things to enjoy all year.

One of the most beautiful places to visit, even during the snowiest weather, is Garmisch-Partenkirche on Munich Mountain where you can see over the Bavarian Alps or go skiing right outside town right up until spring.

If you want to warm up after a long day outdoors then head back into Munich for a traditional Bavarian meal at Gasthaus Saint Bartholomew (in “das Bayernviertel” district) where they serve home-cooked meals from regional products made and enjoy the sounds of the Alphorn at the Zugspitze mountain.

Related Resources